Shostakovich, Dmitry
Shostakovich: Quartet/Quintet
The Medici Quartet
nr katalogowy
NI 7109
Shostakovich was no child prodigy — he began piano lessons at nine — but success as a composer came early when his First Symphony, written as a graduation piece, was acclaimed in Leningrad at the premiere in May 1926. That said, there is some fine chamber music in Shostakovich's student output. Much of the Two Pieces for String Octet Op. 11 actually predates the First Symphony Op. 10, remarkably assured for an eighteen year-old. The Two Pieces for String Quartet on the other hand did not surface at all until 1984! Dedicated to the J. Vuillaume Quartet they give us the suggestion of a Shostakovich quartet sound circa 1931 — seven years before the real thing. The original stimulus to compose a piano quintet came from musicians of the Beethoven Quartet who had asked him for something they could all play together. But Shostakovich must have relished the technical challenge of a medium which few twentieth century composers had been prepared to tackle because of its peculiar problems of balance and texture. The composer himself gave the first performa nce with the Beethoven Quartet in Moscow on 23 November 1940. And, utterly non-ideological as it was and is, the music won him a Stalin Prize. Shostakovich was one of the most important and prolific writer of string quartets in the 20th century. His String Quartet No. 8 comes from an important period in his personal as well as his artistic life. Musically it comes from the same period as his widely acknowledged masterpiece, the Tenth Symphony. Dissident writers have claimed it represents the composer himself – a lost voice in a cruel world. • The Medici String Quartet was widely regarded as one of Britain's leading international ensembles, having appeared to critical acclaim in over thirty countries across five continents. It was formed in 1971 and somewhat disbanded in 2007 when Paul Robertson the founder and leader of the quartet for over forty years became seriously ill. This reissue from the Quartet’s Nimbus recordings made in the 1980’s join their other releases including the Beethoven Complete String Quartets (NI 1785), and works by Janáček & Fauré (NI 5379) and Smetana & Debussy (NI 5389).
Muzyka klasyczna

(Produkt nie został jeszcze oceniony)

cena 52,00

Produkt na zamówienie

Wysyłka ustalana indywidualnie.

Darmowa wysyłka dla zamówień powyżej 300 zł!

Darmowy kurier dla zamówień powyżej 500 zł!

sprawdź koszty wysyłki

Produktu jeszcze nie zrecenzowano, chcesz być pierwszy?

Klienci, którzy kupili ten produkt, kupili również

Anderson, Julian

Anderson: Heaven is shy of Earth; The comedy of change

ODE 1313-2

Tchaikovsky, Piotr

Tchaikovsky: Complete Orchestral Suites


Gillespie, Dizzy

Gillespie Dizzy: Groovin\' High

CDM 2742440_42

Reznicek, Emil Nikolaus von

Reznicek: Symphonische Suite No. 1; Traumspiel-Suite; Karneval-Suite

CPO 555 056-2

Shakespeare: Henry IV, Part 2

DVD OA 1077 D

różni kompozytorzy

Les Grandes Eaux Musicales – Charpentier, Lully, Royer, Leclair, Campra ,Rameau

Alpha 959

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos

TMK 1004 CD2

Monteverdi, Claudio

Monteverdi: Arie e Lamenti, Madrigali Guerrieri et Amorosi

AVSA 9884

Pécou, Thierry

L Oiseau innumerable

HMC 901974

Bettinelli, Bruno

Bettinelli: Chamber Music


różni kompozytorzy

Project W

CDR 90000 185

Harbison, John

Harbison: Requiem


różni kompozytorzy

Victoria de Los Angeles à Paris - Fauré; Debussy; Ravel

PRD 350137

Forqueray, Antoine

Forqueray: The Forqueray Family


Brahms, Johannes

Brahms: Ein deutsches Requiem

HMG 501608

Pozostałe płyty tego kompozytora

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 6 & 12 "The Year 1917"


różni kompozytorzy, Dvorak, Antonin, Shostakovich, Dmitry

Great Czech Conductors: Rafael Kubelík - Dvořák: Symphony 8, Piano Concerto, Shostakovich: Symphony 9, Martinů, Dobiáš

SU 4080-2

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Ring for String Quartet

PRD 250318

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Victorova: Quinlong Azure Dragon; Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10

FUG 756

różni kompozytorzy, Schumann, Robert, Shostakovich, Dmitry

Fantasy and Farewell: Music for Viola and Orchestra

DE 3441

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8 Scriabin: Le Poème de l'Extase

PRD 350120

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: The Gadfly


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Violin Sonata; 24 Preludes (arr. violin and piano)


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Jazz Suite No. 2; Concerto for Piano, Trumpet, and String Orchestra

KL 1526

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Three Chamber Symphonies


Shostakovich, Dmitry, Weinberg, Mieczysław, Lutosławski, Witold

Shostakovich & Weinberg: Cello Concertos Lutosławski: Mała Suita

CCS 38116

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk

DVD 101387

Rose, Lawrence, Shostakovich, Dmitry

Rose & Shostakovich: Cello Sonatas


Pozostałe płyty tego wykonawcy

Mendelssohn, Felix, Franck, Cesar

Mendelssohn: String Octet; Franck: Piano Quintet

NI 7108