Shostakovich, Dmitry; Kissin, Evgeny
Shostakovich & Kissin: String Quartets
Kopelman Quartet
nr katalogowy
NI 5970
Shostakovich composed his String Quartet No. 2 in A major Op. 68 in just nineteen days during the summer of 1944 at a 'House of Rest and Creativity' in Ivanovo. Its allusions to Russian folk music made it a loyal response to the 'Great Patriotic War', but its incorporation of style elements of the sacred and klezmer music of Eastern European Jewry, historically oppressed within Russia and Eastern Europe, took its implications further afield. By including aspects of Jewish style, he may have desired to express his sympathy for the persecuted Jewish people, especially when news broke in 1944 of the atrocities carried out at the Treblinka concentration camp, built and operated by Nazi Germany in occupied Poland during WWII. While staying in Batumi, Georgia in late October/early November 1931, he adapted in one evening two short movements from earlier works as a gift to the Jean Vuillaume Quartet. His beautiful Elegy for string quartet is derived from Katerina Ismailova’s aria 'The foal runs after the filly' in Act I, Scene 3 of Lady Macbeth, which he completed in its original version in 1932. The Polka derives from Shostakovich's first ballet The Golden Age Op. 22 (1929-30), which dramatizes the visit of a Soviet football team to a decadent Western European city. The footballers are subjected to various indignities, including imprisonment, but they are eventually freed when the working classes revolt against their bourgeois rulers and the ballet ends with a dance of solidarity between the footballers and the workers. Kissin's String Quartet is a fitting companion to Shostakovich's works on this disc, not least because both composers' musical language has much in common. The work is modernist, starkly constructed but deeply communicative and it comprises an eclectic mixture of styles that appertain to Kissin's life and career.
Muzyka klasyczna

(Produkt nie został jeszcze oceniony)

cena 64,00

Produkt na zamówienie

Wysyłka ustalana indywidualnie.

Darmowa wysyłka dla zamówień powyżej 300 zł!

Darmowy kurier dla zamówień powyżej 500 zł!

sprawdź koszty wysyłki

Produktu jeszcze nie zrecenzowano, chcesz być pierwszy?

Klienci, którzy kupili ten produkt, kupili również

Handel, George Frideric

Handel: Saul

HMY 2921877.78

Dessy, Jean-Paul

Dessy: Requiems

CYP 4652

Bruckner, Anton

Bruckner: Missa Solemnis

ACC 30429

Östlund, Jonathan

Östlund: Mistral

DDA 25199

różni kompozytorzy

Gonzales Caballero: Guitar Recital - Clerch; Tarrega; Britten; Albeniz; ...


Verdi, Giuseppe

Verdi: Aida

DVD OA 0954 D

Kerll, Johann Caspar

Kerll: Missa non sine quare

PC 10259

Brahms, Johannes

Brahms: Serenades

PBP 05

Nyman, Michael

David McAlmont & Michael Nyman: The Glare


Liszt, Franz

Liszt: Scherzo & March, Méphisto-Waltz , Harmonies poétiques & religieuses

PRD 350081

różni kompozytorzy

Styrian Harpsichord Concertos

CPO 555 269-2

Beethoven, Ludwig van

BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonatas vol. 1


Bach, Johann Sebastian

Bach: Matthäus-Passion; nagranie 1984 rok

HMY 2921155.57

różni kompozytorzy

Furusato - A Japanese Journey 2

NI 6357

różni kompozytorzy

Great Movie Themes 2 - Batman, The Pink Panther, Mission Impossible, Love Story, Jurassic Park, Superman, The English Patient, The Godfather


Pozostałe płyty tego kompozytora

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Suites

C 71097

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Last Three String Quartets

CKD 612

różni kompozytorzy, Schumann, Robert, Shostakovich, Dmitry

Fantasy and Farewell: Music for Viola and Orchestra

DE 3441

Franck, Cesar, Shostakovich, Dmitry

Franck; Shostakovich:Sonaty na wiolonczelę i fortepian

sarton 032-2

Shostakovich, Dmitry

SHOSTAKOVICH: The Fall of Berlin, ...


Shostakovich, Dmitry

WYCOFANY Shostakovich: Symphony No. 14

Alpha 159

różni kompozytorzy

The Legacy of Mahler - Mahler, Berg, Schönberg, Shostakovich, Britten

ODE 1208-2

różni kompozytorzy

Russian Opera Classics : Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh, Eugene Onegin, Pique Dame, Boris Godunov


Shostakovich, Dmitry

SHOSTAKOVICH: Viola sonata


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 13; Prokofiev: October, Cantata


Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Six Romances Scottish Ballad Suite on Poems by Michelangelo Buonarroti

ODE 1235-2

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3


Mussorgsky, Modest, Shostakovich, Dmitry, Prokofiev, Sergey

Russian Recital – Mussorgsky, Prokofiev, Shostakovich

CDR 90000 153

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 "Leningrad"


Shostakovich, Dmitry

SHOSTAKOVICH: String Quartets Vol. 3


Pozostałe płyty tego wykonawcy

Schubert, Franz, Tchaikovsky, Piotr

Schubert & Tchaikovsky: String Quartets

NI 5962